Review: Viral Implications – Tears of Glass EP

Label: On-Mix Media
Catalog No: onmp188

Viral Implications is making a quiet entrance into the new year with this five track EP. Mixing downtempo beats with worldly electronic vibes, a chillout experience has been manifested. You can fluidly weave in and out of the beats and feel the constant motion of everything around you. You get wrapped up inside a warm cocoon spun by lush tones and it makes you want to nestle inside and wait for your metamorphosis.

The mild poignancy of the songs shows us a human side to mechanical warblings and robotic drum patterns. The task of attaching emotion to lifeless computer sounds is difficult and this release makes the process seem effortless. There is an unfortunate inconsistent gap with some of the songs. The lack of proper transitions takes away from the fluid flow of the music. It is a subtle reminder that you are only listening to music and not experiencing a total rebirth.

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Standout Track: A Homeless Farewell


Review: Aqosto – Blurred Paints EP

Label: Trippin’ the Rift
Catalog No:TTRR004

A dreamy beat starts to permeate. A serene cat wags its tail in time to the beat. Everything falls into place. The order of the universe becomes a plot on a timeline, set to go off at a precise moment to coincide with the music.

Trip-hop and chillout meld with ambient to create six delightful tracks. Samples are spliced throughout to add a human aspect as the grooves bring a smile to your face. The programming is very well done and entertaining. A new lies around every corner to keep you strapped in on this placid boat ride through a tunnel of acrylics and watercolors. They splash against the boat, painting a tapestry of color that wriggles and sways with the music.

Aqosto have created a very enjoyable EP that speaks to all walks of life. Everyone should be able to find something they like and shout it from the mountaintops.

Standout track: Alison
Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: Mister Vapor – Warped Essence 2 EP

Label: Treetrunk Records
Catalog No: treetrunk 132

Glitch and Industrial are fused together with dark overtones in this 3 track EP from Mister Vapor, a side project from Mystified. It is a great representation of the sounds we hear around us every day. Each day a new symphony unfolds before our ears as we hear the birds and traffic. It is unique to our ears and no one will ever hear that exact performance again. Mister Vapor has taken that concept and added some foot-tapping to it.

This release is full of rhythmic loops and elements of Drone and Dark Ambient. The crossing of genres is common with this artist and he handles them well, like an ambassador to many nations eager to bring the edges of Earth closer together. These 3 songs are very enjoyable albeit ominous. Though you will get the urge to get up and dance, I wouldn’t recommend it. Odds are you will end up floating into another dimension.

Standout track: The Wrench In the Gears
Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: Three Kinds of Water – Three Kinds of Water EP

Label: Trippin’ the Rift
Catalog No: N/A

This quaint EP is a wonderful revival of old school downtempo. Back in the day this was the ultimate chill music. It’s nice to know that this spirit continues to thrive and people can still find some amazing mood music.

This release is exquisite, a wonderful combination of aquatic beats, classic piano and sampling. The music transcends genres, incorporating every corner of the globe. It is a fantastic voyage guided by classic trip-hop style beats. The songs flow by forcing you to groove to them. The movements are inescapable. A whole club of dancers slows down to a relaxed speed, the rhythm in tune to flashes of time darting across your eyes. The end message the songs leave behind is to always feel good. Take life one beat at a time.

Standout track: Festival Spirit
Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: Mystified – Remembering the Engine

Label: None
Catalog No: N/A

The ever prolific Mystified, AKA Thomas Park, has released what he is calling an “audio eulogy for American oil.” This is exactly what he has accomplished. By composing three tracks of droned-out industrial sounds, he has painted a portrait of a mechanical post-apocalyptic funeral. Rows and rows of disembodied automobiles lay before a solemn memorial, stained in oil leaking from the pores of the mourning mechanisms. A ghosted figure of the officiating priest hovers above this scene which takes place after the annihilation of human existence.

Park has created a harrowing image dripping with the bleak truth. His union of industrial noises and drone techniques form a extraordinary soundscape, laced with twinges of dark ambient moods. This music could be the soundtrack to the scene of a car crash or a bombed out war zone. The harsh truth is that this is what will play when there is no one left on Earth to make music.

Standout track: Dying Gasps of Oil
Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: Entheogen – Tryptamine EP

Label: BFW Recordings
Catalog No: BFW102

Drum ‘n’ Bass melts with psychedelia in this 3 track EP. The beats are solid and the atmosphere is lush. The mood it creates is very relaxing yet tense. It’s like being in a nightclub chilling out right before the mescaline kicks in. There is a certain lack of consistency with the whole album. “Javanese Dance”, the first track, is a quick Drum ‘n’ Bass beat with mild electronic experimentation. The other two songs are more downtempo and much less beat driven. The latter tracks are also more appropriate for the concept the artist was trying to express. “Neuromodulator” (of which tryptamine is) has a very chillout vibe as is swirls around, floating six feet above existence and in time to its beats. “Trip to Mine” features samples from a man describing a DMT trip. If he was going for a concept or if it’s all a big coincidence it is unclear.

Standout track: Neuromodulator
Rating: 3.5 stars

SML001 w.x – Vines For the Electric Pant Leg EP

Vines For the Electric Pant Leg was recorded between December 2006 and February 2007 and self-released on CD-R on February 13, 2007. It was created entirely with Reason, experimenting with the synths and samplers therein. I clearly had no idea what I was doing at the time but went into it like a wide-eyed child eager to push all the buttons and turn all the knobs his hands could reach. The end result was a fair starting point. I experimented with automation and wiring and realized just how far I could push my laptop before it started to sweat. While recording “Sound 1: Noise” my computer’s memory started to freak out because of all the recorded automation. It couldn’t keep up. The song that came out of it was a visceral noise melee. Something that could ruin your computer’s memory just by listening to it.

1. Instant Replay Sequence (1:58)
2. Paranoid Request (3:08)
3. Nova Starburst Collapse (2:44)
4. Regulator (4:38)
5. Padded Walls (2:06)
6. Sound 1: Noise (9:48)

Genres: Ambient, Experimental, Noise

Instant Replay Sequence by w.x

Vines for the Electric Pant Leg is available for download here.